RESTAURATION D’ÉCOSYSTÈMES AQUATIQUES DANS DES ZONES PROTÉGÉES DES ALPES ET DES PYRÉNÉES

Partenaires

Coordination

Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique (CSIC)

Le Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique est la principale institution publique de recherche en Espagne et la troisième d’Europe.

Deux instituts rattachés au CSIC, le Centre d’Estudis Avançats de Blanes (CEAB – Centre d’études avancées de Blanes) et l’Institut d’Avaluació Ambiental i Recerca de l’Aigua (IDAEA – Institut d’évaluation environnementale et de recherche de l’eau), participent au projet.

Centre d’études avancées de Blanes (CEAB)

La recherche menée par le CEAB a pour principaux objectifs d’identifier la diversité des organismes aquatiques, de comprendre leurs fonctions et interactions dans la nature et d’appliquer ces connaissances dans l’utilisation et la gestion rationnelles des ressources de notre planète et la prédiction des réponses aux changements environnementaux. L’une des expertises de pointe du CEAB est la recherche sur les espèces invasives, tant en ce qui concerne leur rôle dans les écosystèmes récepteurs que les mécanismes de gestion.

Le CEAB travaille en partenariat avec des agences nationales et régionales en vue d’améliorer la conservation des écosystèmes. Il dispose d’une équipe de recherche prestigieuse spécialisée dans l’étude et la conservation des lacs de montagne, qui a participé dans de nombreux projets financés par l’UE utilisant les étangs de montagne comme indicateurs des changements environnementaux et climatiques.

Cofinanceurs

Mairie de Lladorre

Lladorre est une commune d’environ 250 habitants, située dans la comarque du Pallars Sobirà. Son territoire municipal est intégré au parc naturel des Hautes-Pyrénées à 80 %, et son gouvernement local est engagé dans la conservation du patrimoine naturel et de la biodiversité.

Mairie d’Espot

La commune d’Espot compte environ 360 habitants et est située dans la comarque du Pallars Sobirà. Un part emblématique du parc national d’Aigüestortes et lac de Saint-Maurice fait partie de la commune d’Espot, telle que les Encantats et le lac de Saint-Maurice. Son gouvernement local est engagé dans la conservation de son patrimoine naturel et de sa biodiversité.

Fondation Andrena

La Fondation Andrena a été fondée par la famille Gallés. Son principal objectif est l’amélioration de la fonctionnalité et de la résilience des écosystèmes aquatiques d’eau douce par la restauration écologique fondée sur la connaissance scientifique.

La Fondation Andrena œuvre conjointement avec les organisations et les scientifiques spécialisés dans l’écologie des systèmes aquatiques.

Parc national du Grand-Paradis

Le parc national du Grand-Paradis est un espace protégé désigné par l’État italien dans le but de préserver les écosystèmes naturels d’importance nationale et internationale des vallées qui composent le massif du Grand-Paradis pour les générations actuelles et futures.

L’objectif de l’organisme gestionnaire du parc est de gérer et de préserver la zone protégée, de maintenir la biodiversité et le paysage, de mener la recherche scientifique et l’éducation environnementale et de développer et promouvoir le tourisme durable.

Partenaires participants

Conselh Generau d’Aran, Departament d’Agricultura, Ramaderia e Miei Naturau

Le Conselh Generau d’Aran est la principale institution de gouvernement du val d’Aran. Le Conselh Generau d’Aran est compétent dans les domaines de la nature, de la montagne et des chemins forestiers ainsi que de la protection de l’agriculture, de l’élevage du bétail, de la pêche, de la chasse et des ressources forestières.

Le Conselh Generau d’Aran a participé à divers projets subventionnés par l’Union européenne tels que LIFE et INTERREG, et dispose d’une brigade d’agents environnementaux et de garde-pêches qualifiés dans la gestion et le suivi des populations de poissons, dont les Cottus hispaniolensis, Salmo trutta et Phoxinus sp.

Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research (IDAEA)

L’IDAEA est un institut des sciences environnementales spécialisé dans l’étude de l’empreinte humaine sur la biosphère. Il prétend contribuer à résoudre les problèmes environnementaux du XXIe siècle grâce à une recherche de grande qualité destinée à la communauté scientifique et à une plus grande sensibilisation des citoyens sur les polluants environnementaux.

Forestal Catalana

Forestal Catalana est un établissement public, dont l’activité se développe sur le territoire catalan.

Ses missions sont la fourniture de services, l’assistance technique, la préservation de la flore et de la faune ainsi que la gestion de l’environnement naturel. Parmi d’autres expertises, Forestal Catalana possède de l’expérience dans la production et la commercialisation de plantes et de semences destinées au reboisement et à la restauration environnementale. Il se charge également de la conception, de l’exécution, de la préservation et de la restauration de bâtiments et d’infrastructures dans les espaces naturels et des travaux de restauration, de sylviculture et de lutte contre l’érosion. La section de gestion environnementale de Forestal Catalana est chargée d’élever en captivité des espèces protégées pour leur récupération.

Generalitat de Catalunya. Departament d’Acció Climàtica, Alimentació i Agenda Rural

La direction générale du milieu naturel et de la biodiversité est rattachée au ministère de l’Action climatique, de l’Alimentation et de l’Agenda rural de la Generalitat de Catalogne, elle est responsable de la planification et de la gestion de la nature et des ressources naturelles en Catalogne. Le service des espaces naturels protégés et, notamment le parc naturel des Hautes-Pyrénées et le parc national d’Aigüestortes et lac de Saint-Maurice, participeront au projet.

Le service des espaces naturels protégés possède une vaste expérience dans les projets européens de conservation des espèces protégées (bivalves d’eaux continentales, grand tétras, ours brun, goéland d’Audouin…), que ce soit en tant que coordinateur, partenaire ou cofinanceur.

Associació La Sorellona

L’Associació La Sorellona est un organisme à but non lucratif spécialisé dans l’éducation environnementale et la sensibilisation pour la conservation de la nature. Elle a été fondée en 2013 par un groupe de biologistes, militants écologistes et autres professionnels dans le domaine de la gestion des ressources naturelles.

La Sorellona œuvre à la conception et à la mise en place d’activités d’éducation environnementale, à la diffusion de thématiques environnementales, à la promotion du bénévolat environnemental, à l’organisation de camps d’été pour les enfants et de camps de travail pour les jeunes et à d’autres activités connexes. En parallèle, elle a entamé une ligne de travail fructueuse dans le domaine de la conservation de la nature, notamment dans les écosystèmes aquatiques continentaux et les espèces associées les plus menacées.

Actuellement, elle dispose d’un bureau technique composé de techniciens spécialisés dans la conservation de la nature et d’éducateurs environnementaux ayant une vaste expérience, ainsi que de nombreux spécialistes partenaires qui travaillent ponctuellement pour l’association, que ce soit en tant que professionnels ou bénévoles.

Sorelló, Estudis al Medi Aquàtic, SL

Sorelló est une jeune entreprise spécialisée dans la fourniture de services d’assistance technique et scientifique pour la gestion et la préservation d’espèces et d’habitats aquatiques continentaux.

L’entreprise a développé de nombreux projets d’étude et de suivi d’espèces autochtones menacées ; d’espèces exotiques invasives ; d’espèces d’habitats lacustres ou fluviaux ou de marais ; de la qualité de l’eau et de son état écologique ; de la connectivité fluviale, etc. Dans le domaine de la gestion des espèces exotiques, Sorelló a conçu et exécuté des projets expérimentaux en vue de l’élimination et du contrôle intensif des poissons. En outre, elle développe également des actions d’éducation et de sensibilisation environnementale.

Université de Barcelone

L’Université de Barcelone est considérée comme l’une des 200 meilleures universités du monde. Le département de biologie végétale participe à des projets de recherche dans le domaine de la physiologie végétale, la science de la végétation, la biologie des populations végétales et la conservation botanique, entre autres.

Les chercheurs participant au projet LIFE RESQUE ALPYR font partie d’un groupe de recherche ayant une vaste expérience dans le domaine de la végétation et de la flore de haute montagne, de la cartographie botanique et de la restauration.

Université de Pavia

L’Université de Pavia est une des plus anciennes universités d’Europe. Plusieurs chercheurs et techniciens du département des sciences environnementales et de la terre participeront aux actions de conservation, suivi, communication et coordination du projet LIFE RESQUE ALPYR.

Le département fournira les infrastructures (telles que le laboratoire d’écologie, doté de microscopes et de stéréomicroscopes) nécessaires au développement du projet. Tout le personnel participant possède une expérience préalable dans les thèmes du projet tels que la restauration écologique, l’éradication de poissons, l’écologie des poissons, la taxonomie des invertébrés aquatiques, l’écologie, l’herpétologie, la botanique et la cartographie.

Ainsi, le département possède une vaste expérience dans des projets européens, dont les projets LIFE, et, de ce fait, il dispose de toutes les capacités techniques et administratives pour atteindre avec succès les objectifs fixés.

Institut de recherche de l’eau (IRSA)

Le Conseil national de la recherche (CNR) est la principale institution publique de recherche italienne. Elle intègre plus de 100 instituts de recherche.

L’Institut de recherche de l’eau (IRSA) mène des études de structure et de dynamique des écosystèmes et de leur réponse aux pressions anthropiques. Il développe des méthodes de suivi environnemental et de restauration, notamment concernant les lacs. Le siège de Verbania de CNR IRSA, précédemment dénommé Istituto Italiano di Idrobiologia, étudie les étangs de montagne depuis 1940 et intègre les aspects climatiques et morphométriques des lames d’eaux avec des analyses chimiques de l’eau pour une interprétation des caractéristiques biologiques des lacs. Ses études des lacs de montagne couvrent des domaines très divers tels que la biogéographie, la génétique, les effets du transport à longue distance des polluants ou le changement climatique.

Le personnel de l’Institut a coordonné et participé à différents projets européens de recherche et de conservation, dont les projets LIFE.

Parc naturel Mont Avic

Le parc naturel Mont Avic s’étend sur 5 747 hectares dans les vallées de Chalamy (commune de Champdepraz) et de Champorcher (commune de Champorcher). Il est déclaré zone spéciale de conservation (IT120200 – parc naturel Mont Vic) et zone spéciale de protection IT202020 – Mont Vic et Mont Émilius du réseau Natura 2000.

L’objectif du parc naturel Mont Avic est de gérer et de préserver la zone protégée, de maintenir la biodiversité, de mener la recherche scientifique et l’éducation environnementale et de développer et promouvoir le tourisme durable, en partenariat avec le parc national de la Vanoise et le parc national du Grand-Paradis. En 2007, le parc naturel Mont Avic a obtenu le diplôme européen des zones protégées, une prestigieuse reconnaissance du Conseil de l’Europe.

RESTORATION OF AQUATIC ECOSYSTEMS IN PROTECTED AREAS IN THE ALPS AND PYRENEES

Partners

Coordinator

Spanish National research Council (CSIC)

The Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) is the largest public institution dedicated to research in Spain and the third largest in Europe.

Two CSIC research institutes are involved in this project, the Centre for Advanced Studies of Blanes (CEAB) and the Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research (IDAEA).

Centre for Advanced Studies of Blanes (CEAB)

The CEAB‘s research is focused on identifying the diversity of aquatic organisms and understanding their functions and interactions in nature, as well as the application of this knowledge in the use and rational management of our planet’s resources and the prediction of responses to environmental modifications. One of the most outstanding aspects of the CEAB research is the study of invasive species, both their role in the receiving ecosystems and management mechanisms.

CEAB works in collaboration with state or regional agencies to improve the conservation of ecosystems. Among them, it has an important research group specialized in the study and conservation of high mountain lakes. It has participated in numerous projects financed by the European Commission using high mountain lakes as sensors of environmental and climatic changes.

Co-financiers

Ajuntament de Lladorre

Lladorre is a municipality of about 250 inhabitants, located in the Pallars Sobirà region. Eighty per cent of the area of Lladorre is included in L’Alt Pirineu Natural Park, and its local government is committed to the conservation of its natural heritage and biodiversity.

Ajuntament d’Espot

Espot is a municipality of about 360 inhabitants, located in the Pallars Sobirà region. An emblematic part of Aigüestortes and Estany de Sant Maurici National Park is included in the municipality of Espot, for example the Encantats and Lake Sant Maurici. The local government is committed to the conservation of its natural heritage and biodiversity.

Fundació Andrena

The Andrena Foundation was founded by the Gallés family. Its main objective is to improve the functions and resilience of freshwater ecosystems, by means of science-based ecological restoration.

The Foundation works with organizations and scientists focused on freshwater ecology.

Ente Parco Nazionale Gran Paradiso

Parco Nazionale Gran Paradiso is a protected area established by the Italian State in order to preserve ecosystems of national and international relevance in the valleys around the Gran Paradiso massif, for present and future generations.

The aim of the Body is therefore to manage and preserve the protected area, maintain the biodiversity of this territory and its landscape, scientific research, environmental education, development and promotion of sustainable tourism.

Associated beneficiaries

Conselh Generau d’Aran, Departament d’Agricultura, Ramaderia e Miei Naturau

The Conselh Generau d’Aran (ARAN) is the main institution of the government of the Val d’Aran. The Conselh Generau has authority with regard to the protections of nature, mountains and forest paths, and the protection of agriculture, livestock, fishing, hunting and forestry resources.

The Conselh Generau has participated in several EC-funded LIFE and INTER-REG projects and has a brigade of environmental agents and fish wardens with experience in monitoring populations of fish, including Cottus hispaniolensis, Salmo trutta and Phoxinus sp.

Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research (IDAEA)

IDAEA is an environmental science institute devoted to the study of the human footprint on the biosphere. Its goal is to contribute to solve 21st century environmental problems by providing the scientific community with high-quality research, and by raising citizens’ awareness of environmental pollutants.

University of Calabria

UNICAL was established in 1968 (Law n. 422 of May 12, 1968) to boost the cultural, social and economic growth of the students and society in Calabria. In its first half-century of life, the University has kept faith with its founding values by making the Campus a place for debate and examination of other experiences and by building an academic community that fully identifies with the mission of contributing to the development of knowledge, cultural education, civil progress and economic development of the area where it operates.

Research activities are carried out both in the several laboratories, 32 of which are geared with top-quality equipment, and in some large inter-departmental infrastructures, in particular the SILA – Integrated System of Laboratories for the Environment. With respect to technical innovation, Unical enhances the results of its research with a large portfolio of patents, dozens of academic spin-offs and innovative startups, with the support of the academic incubator TechNest and the Liaison Office.

Forestal Catalana, S.A.

Forestal Catalana is a public company whose area of activity is Catalonia.

Its aim is the provision of services, technical assistance, preservation of flora and fauna and management of the natural environment. Among other abilities Forestal Catalana has experience in producing and commercializing plants and seeds for reforestation and environmental restoration. They can also design, construct, preserve, explore and restore buildings and infrastructures in natural areas as well as perform silvicultural and reforestation work and fight against erosion.

The environment management area of Forestal Catalana is responsible for breeding threatened species in captivity and recovering protected species.

Generalitat de Catalunya. Departament d’Acció Climàtica, Alimentació i Agenda Rural

The Direcció General del Medi Natural i Biodiversitat is part of the Departament d’Acció Climàtica, Alimentació i Agenda Rural of the Generalitat de Catalunya. This Directorate General is the environmental unit for the territory of Catalonia competent in the planning and management of nature and natural resources. The Protected Natural Areas service and, in particular, l’Alt Pirineu Natural Park and Aigüestortes and Estany de Sant Maurici National Park will participate in this project. They are part of the Subdirecció General del Medi Natural i Biodiversitat.

The service has extensive experience in European projects for the conservation of threatened species (freshwater bivalves, grouse, brown bear, Audouin’s gull, fish, etc.); acting as beneficiaries, partners or cofinanciers.

Associació La Sorellona

Associació La Sorellona is a non-profit organization dedicated to environmental education and awareness and nature conservation. It was established in 2013 by a team of biologists, environmentalists and other graduates in the field of natural resources management.

This NGO works on the design and implementation of environmental education activities, dissemination of environmental issues, the promotion of environmental volunteering, summer camps for children and work camps for young people, and other related activities. At the same time, it has begun a fruitful line of nature conservation projects, especially in the field of continental aquatic systems and their most threatened wildlife.

Associació La Sorellona currently has a technical office made up of nature conservation technicians and environmental educators with extensive demonstrable experience, as well as numerous specialized collaborators who work for the entity on a timely basis, either as professionals or as volunteers.

Sorelló, Estudis al Medi Aquàtic S.L.

Sorelló is a young Company specialised in the provision of technical and scientific consultancy services for the management and preservation of species and continental aquatic ecosystems.

Sorelló has taken over numerous projects of study and tracking of native and threatened species, exotic invasive species; species from river, lacustrine or marsh habitats, water quality and ecological status, stream connectivity, etc. In the field of exotic species management, Sorelló has designed and executed experimental projects of elimination and intensive control of fish fauna. It also carries out environmental education and environmental awareness-raising activities.

University of Barcelona

The University of Barcelona is considered one of the 200 best universities in the world. The Department of Plant Biology is involved in research projects on plant physiology, vegetation science, plant population biology and botanical preservation among others.

The researchers involved in the project LIFE RESQUE ALPYR are part of a research group experienced in high mountain flora and vegetation, vegetation mapping and restauration, which is the basis of their commitment.

University of Pavia

The University of Pavia is one of the oldest universities in Europe. Several researchers and technicians from the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences – DSTA will be involved in the conservation, monitoring, communication and coordination actions implemented in the project LIFE RESQUE ALPYR.

The Department will provide infrastructure (e.g., the Laboratory of Ecology, equipped with microscopes and stereomicroscopes) which are necessary for the project’s implementation. The Department staff have experience in several topics related to the LIFE RESQUE ALPYR proposal, such as restoration ecology, fish eradication, fish ecology, aquatic invertebrate taxonomy and ecology, herpetology, botany and cartography.

They also have considerable experience in EU-funded projects, including LIFE projects, and therefore full technical and administrative capacity to cope with the expected duties generated by the present proposal.

Water Research Institute (IRSA)

The National Research Council (CNR) is the major Italian public research institution, including more than 100 research institutes.

The Water Research Institute (IRSA) carries out studies on ecosystem structure and dynamics and on their response to anthropogenic pressures, and develops methods for environmental monitoring and restoration, mainly focusing on lakes. The Verbania site of CNR IRSA, formerly Istituto Italiano di Idrobiologia, started working on high mountain lakes in the 1940s integrating climatic and morphometric properties of watersheds and chemical analysis of lake water for an interpretation of the biological features of lakes. Studies on high mountain lakes have covered topics such as biogeography, genetics, effects of long-range transport of pollutants and climate change.

The staff of the institute has collaborated on and coordinated several EU funded research and conservation projects, including LIFE projects.

Ente Parco Naturale Mont Avic

Parco Naturale Mont Avic stretches over 5,747 hectares in the Chalamy (municipality of Champdepraz) and Champorcher (municipality of Champorcher) valleys. MANP has been declared a Special Conservation Site (IT1202000 – Parco Naturale Mont Avic) and is included in Special Protection Area IT1202020 – Mont Avic and Mont Emilius of the EU Natura 2000 Network (Council of the European Communities, 1979, 1992).

The aim of the MANP is to manage and preserve the protected area, maintain biodiversity, scientific research, environmental education, development and promotion of sustainable tourism, together with Parc National de la Vanoise and Parco Nazionale Gran Paradiso. In 2007 the MANP obtained the European Diploma of Protected Areas, a prestigious acknowledgement awarded by the Council of Europe.